• Hello Guest,

    Welcome to the Survive the Nights community forums. Please feel free to share your ideas with the team and discuss current game features. Please do not report bugs here, use our bug tracker for that.

    The team at a2z(Interactive);

Anyone has my same problem? with STN or another game.

Thread starter #1

Manulamf

New Member
Backer
Joined
Sep 5, 2017
Messages
6
Likes
2
Points
3
Hi guys,

I hope someone can help me solving this little problem.
I don't think the issue is caused by the game, many players have the same problem with other games so I just want to find a solution.

Open the game and everything is ok.
Goin into the lobby, chose the server and then.. nothing. Frozen to "connection initiated.."

Connection to internet is pretty good.
Ping is like 13ms.
Firewall are ok. Everything is ok.
But when I open the outputlog I read this error:


"Ping: Error performing ICMP transmission. Possibly because of a timeout
FormatException: Input string was not in the correct format
at System.Int32.Parse (System.String s) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at PoolServers.UpdateFullServerList () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0 "

I know, developers cant do anything for this, my own issue, but I hope to find someone that can handle it.

Thanks for your attention.
 

Num47

Sexual Tyrannosaurus
Backer
Joined
Feb 24, 2015
Messages
3,895
Likes
4,658
Points
113
Location
What? No. We can't stop here. This is bat country.
Moderator #4

strategos2411

Lead Moderator
Lead Mod
Backer
Joined
Aug 13, 2014
Messages
2,062
Likes
2,909
Points
113
Location
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Hi guys,

I hope someone can help me solving this little problem.
I don't think the issue is caused by the game, many players have the same problem with other games so I just want to find a solution.

Open the game and everything is ok.
Goin into the lobby, chose the server and then.. nothing. Frozen to "connection initiated.."

Connection to internet is pretty good.
Ping is like 13ms.
Firewall are ok. Everything is ok.
But when I open the outputlog I read this error:


"Ping: Error performing ICMP transmission. Possibly because of a timeout
FormatException: Input string was not in the correct format
at System.Int32.Parse (System.String s) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at PoolServers.UpdateFullServerList () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0 "

I know, developers cant do anything for this, my own issue, but I hope to find someone that can handle it.

Thanks for your attention.
Yo, which version of the game are you currently running? If you are not on the experimental branch i'd advise trying that, and verifying all files on steam.

Opt in to experimental -
1. Open Steam and go to your games library.
2. Right click on Survive The Nights and select "Properties"
3. Navigate to the "Betas" tab and select "experimental" from the combo box.
4. Close the properties window.
5. Done :)

Verify Files -
  1. From the Library section, right-click on the game and select Properties from the menu.
  2. Select the Local files tab and click the Verify integrity of game files... button.
  3. Steam will verify the game's files - this process may take several minutes
 
Thread starter #5

Manulamf

New Member
Backer
Joined
Sep 5, 2017
Messages
6
Likes
2
Points
3
@strategos2411 thanks for your answer man!

I already did all these things but I have the same error entering into the servers.
I think there's something wrong into my router, or some exeptions for the server IP or server port...
 
Moderator #6

strategos2411

Lead Moderator
Lead Mod
Backer
Joined
Aug 13, 2014
Messages
2,062
Likes
2,909
Points
113
Location
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
@strategos2411 thanks for your answer man!

I already did all these things but I have the same error entering into the servers.
I think there's something wrong into my router, or some exeptions for the server IP or server port...
Have you tried resetting your network adapter and ensuring the drivers are up to date? Releasing/renewing IP?

Might be going over stuff you've already tried again, so lemme know what you have tried and what OS and router you using, will dig around and see if i can find a fix
 
Thread starter #7

Manulamf

New Member
Backer
Joined
Sep 5, 2017
Messages
6
Likes
2
Points
3
@strategos2411 I just tried to install other framework, this : Microsoft .NET Framework 4.7.2 Setup.

Drivers are all ok, I have this problem only with this game.
OS is windows 10 home
router is: fastgate DGA4131FWB model.
 
Moderator #8

strategos2411

Lead Moderator
Lead Mod
Backer
Joined
Aug 13, 2014
Messages
2,062
Likes
2,909
Points
113
Location
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
@strategos2411 I just tried to install other framework, this : Microsoft .NET Framework 4.7.2 Setup.

Drivers are all ok, I have this problem only with this game.
OS is windows 10 home
router is: fastgate DGA4131FWB model.
Can you try running running it in compatibility mode for Windows 7? Have found someone with a similar issue on another title

EDIT - Gna be busy tonight, but will get back to you asap tomorrow if it still not working
 
Last edited:
Moderator #10

strategos2411

Lead Moderator
Lead Mod
Backer
Joined
Aug 13, 2014
Messages
2,062
Likes
2,909
Points
113
Location
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
@strategos2411 I tried and it doesn't work!
5ab1ec7d6c1e31a2b7d7e999ebece84e.png

Try lowering the value in steam settings, have read that it can fix issues similar to yours, as the router receives too many IPs from the server list too fast and thinks its getting a packet flood attack
 

OhDemGames

Oh so pretty oh so pretty
Lead Mod
Backer
Joined
Jun 19, 2017
Messages
150
Likes
387
Points
63
Location
Aberdeenshire
Hi guys,

I hope someone can help me solving this little problem.
I don't think the issue is caused by the game, many players have the same problem with other games so I just want to find a solution.

Open the game and everything is ok.
Goin into the lobby, chose the server and then.. nothing. Frozen to "connection initiated.."

Connection to internet is pretty good.
Ping is like 13ms.
Firewall are ok. Everything is ok.
But when I open the outputlog I read this error:


"Ping: Error performing ICMP transmission. Possibly because of a timeout
FormatException: Input string was not in the correct format
at System.Int32.Parse (System.String s) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at PoolServers.UpdateFullServerList () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0 "

I know, developers cant do anything for this, my own issue, but I hope to find someone that can handle it.

Thanks for your attention.
The 0.8.X update isn't too far away now so i would suggest just waiting for that to come out and seeing if you can connect then or if you get a different error. If the update doesn't change anything give strat a good kicking.

I believe we tried to fix it on discord with no luck unfortunately right?
 
Thread starter #12

Manulamf

New Member
Backer
Joined
Sep 5, 2017
Messages
6
Likes
2
Points
3
View attachment 3174

Try lowering the value in steam settings, have read that it can fix issues similar to yours, as the router receives too many IPs from the server list too fast and thinks its getting a packet flood attack
tried with 1500, maybe tonight i will try with the other values..

@OhDemGames yes! i was lookin for help on discord before to write this thread.
So i will wait for the update hoping I'll can play guys!
 
Top