• Hello Guest,

Welcome to the Survive the Nights community forums. Please feel free to share your ideas with the team and discuss current game features. Please do not report bugs here, use our bug tracker for that.

The team at a2z(Interactive);

Small Calibers in Large Caliber Weapons

Thread starter #1

Applejaxc

Backer
Can it be made possible for weapons to fire smaller calibers at the cost of increased degradation rates? Like Russian 7.62x25 (I think) can be fired from an M1911A1 a few times before the weapon jams. The caliber is weak enough that it doesn't work the blowback action and fails to cock the weapon after each shot. Or .223 fired from a 5.56mm weapon (or the other way around?) is possible, but the opposite isn't. .40S&W can be passed through a 10mm weapon, but the opposite doesn't work.
I'm not an expert on firearms, but I do know this is possible, and I know it's bad for long-term health. If this idea isn't good, why not (and I know this has been suggested but merits placement here) the ability to change parts? A glock in .40S&W can have a 9mm barrel dropped in without many tools, making practice cheaper and easier.

Also, make it possible to load the wrong calibre into a weapon (as long as the chamber is large enough). Inexperienced will ruin their newfound weapons trying to pass 5.56mm through a .22 hunting rifle. It will be hilarious.

Kirk

Soon to be Survivor
Backer
.556 can fire .223 but not the other way around. Has to do with the shoulders on the shells.

Though the idea of using the wrong caliber ruining a gun is a great idea!

Thread starter #3

Applejaxc

Backer
.556 can fire .223 but not the other way around. Has to do with the shoulders on the shells.

Though the idea of using the wrong caliber ruining a gun is a great idea!
So I was right about which did which. Thank you for helping confirm.

Thread starter #5

Applejaxc

Backer

Thank you.

I do have an addendum for the opening post about what calibre I thought fit where: